Gluten Free Diet

The gluten free diet is exactly as it sounds, a diet free of any significant levels of gluten. Now, you might be asking, what is gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat that some people are allergic to.

A gluten free diet is also used to treat celiac disease. back link check . Recently, gluten free diets are becoming trendy because doctors are finding more and more cases of people who are intolerant of gluten, much like lactose-intolerance.

A gluten free diet is not a particularly easy diet to follow because gluten is used in many processed foods as a thickening agent. Innumerable foods in every grocery store that you might never have though would contain wheat, do contain gluten. This makes it all the more difficult for the majority of people on a gluten free diet as most of them will have to avoid gluten for the rest of their lives.

Because of the recent discoveries and the trendy rise in gluten free diets, more and more products are labeled “gluten free”. This isn’t to say that no gluten is present in the product, only that there are not harmful levels of gluten in it.

Because the information we now have about gluten is so recent, many aspects of gluten are still hotly debated. The exact level at which gluten is harmful varies greatly and no consensus has been reached. The same is true in the debate as to whether or not oats contain enough gluten to be harmful, or if they are simply cross contaminated with gluten products on farms and in factories, as some people allergic to gluten have no physical reaction to eating oats, while others do.

The foods that are too be avoided in a gluten free diet include:

  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Durham
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Matzo meal
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat

Foods that should be avoided unless they specifically state that they are gluten free include:

  • Beers
  • Breads
  • Candies
  • Cakes and pies
  • Cereals
  • Cookies
  • Crackers
  • Croutons
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meats or seafood
  • Oats
  • Pastas
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces (including soy sauce)
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups

Gluten free foods include:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Cornmeal
  • Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
  • Hominy grits
  • Polenta
  • Pure cane tortillas
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Tapioca
  • Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
  • Fruits
  • Most dairy products
  • Potatoes
  • Vegetables
  • Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits

You may also like...